top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDr Grace Roberts

Setting off on the right foot

So after a two week employment break, my partner drove me to Leeds Bradford airport, said goodbye, and I got on a plane to Belfast, ready to start my new role as a Postdoctoral Fellow (basically a research scientist) at Queen’s University.


Unfortunately, this first step wasn’t as straight forward as it should have been. Due to heavy mist, my flight was delayed by three hours. This gave my brain a lot of time to think – I was naturally nervous about this step into the unknown – a new group, a new topic, a new city, and the sadness of leaving my partner and my friends behind in Leeds. I’d been in Leeds over 10 years by this point and I really had built a great life there. Though, at the same time, I was excited about my new job, learning new skills, meeting new people, and having new opportunities. So obviously with 3 hours of downtime, my brain went a little bit off-piste!


Eventually however, we did get to board and set off – it was really lovely to see Leeds from the sky. I could clearly see the Parkinson building, the Arena and the motorway which was a weird experience. One of my lovely friends told me step off the plane with my right foot first on the ground. Though I was so tired I have no idea what I did (sorry Elana!).


Due to the delay I jumped into a taxi and headed straight to a flat viewing I had booked a while earlier. I was a bit worried meeting a complete stranger at their house but I told my partner the address and name and kept him updated. There was no need to worry however – she was super lovely and completely understanding of my lateness and the massive suitcase I was dragging with me. After a tour of the flat, she offered me a cup of tea and I felt a wash of relief come over me. It was so nice in this stressful day to have the opportunity to just sit and chat. I then headed to my accommodation (where temporarily staying for the month), checked in and started to unpack and chill.


I am very lucky to have friends here already and I’d arranged to meet Tori for parkrun and coffee on my first Saturday here. She suggested Stormont which was perfect for me – I needed to run 8 miles that weekend and Stormont parkrun is 5 miles away from where I’m staying. It was a beautiful crisp morning and I enjoyed my gentle run over.

The Embankment of the River Lagan - the only good weather we've had so far!

Unfortunately, neither of us thought to check the cancellation list and Stormont park was already in use for a cross-country on the same day. Nevertheless, we did our own little run. Stormont is a stunning park with lots of interesting light-trail routes and lots of follies. We then headed for coffee where I met Tori’s friend Kim – a climber! I had been really nervous about moving somewhere completely by myself so it was great to meet new people straight away.


On Sunday, I checked out the local gym and climbing wall and got signed up to both. I figured it’d be really important to my well-being to fill my time – as well as the small matter of training for my first marathon! I’d been so busy it kept my brain from being nervous about my first day at work (you know, the actual reason I came here – not just to find new running routes!).


First climb at Boulder World

It is a bit odd being alone after living with my partner for many years. Though I have lived alone before and I don’t mind it, I am very conscious of being self-motivated, trying to put myself out there and meet people. It’s easy to stay at home (especially in this weather!) and fall into an isolation.


I’m hoping to write a post every week – one on running and one on my progress in general. Hopefully this will help friends and family at home keep up to date with my adventures.


75 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page