top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDr Grace Roberts

Ormeau parkrun

Number of runners: 394

Weather: Very wet


After last week's misled attempt to go to Stormont parkrun, I double checked the cancellation list this time before heading off to Ormeau parkrun.


It was slightly tricky to find the start - the park is bigger than the map makes out and the paths don't directly relate to what googlemaps says! Though in true parkrun form, I just asked someone in running gear and they were more than happy to direct me.


It was a wet day (like every day at the moment!) so it was a bit worrying to see a lack of hi-vis heroes for a while. But I got chatting to a two people at the start line - a regular who explained the route, and a tourist from Liverpool who was lovely to chat to.


Eventually the volunteers emerged from their cover and the RD gave the briefing. He was a very charismatic guy who managed to cope after the megaphone gave up. It was a weird moment for me when they asked "any tourists?" I am a tourist in a way - I'm new to all these parkruns, and trying to do as many in NI as possible, but at the same time, I live here now! I decided to stay quiet.


We set off and immediately hit a bottle-neck as the path narrows not far from the start, but once we were past this point it was mostly spread out across the broad paths of the park. There were a few moments where people bunched up to avoid large puddles but I just stormed straight though - we're already sopping wet!


I was a bit confused as to how the laps worked and I had to ask a lady if the second lap was the final lap. She laughed and reassured me that they weren't gonna make me go around again!


On the final km, the heavens really opened - the last part of the course is particularly exposed making the wind and rain something to contend with! But I saw the finish and kicked as much as I could.


The finish funnel was really well organised and a few runners helped with the barcode scanning as it was getting busier. I asked where to put my token and I was pointed towards a bench where there were jam jars with slits in the lids. You pop your barcode in the jar for the relevant 100s - a great idea for speeding up barcode sorting!


Then I found an 'Ormeau Runner' (easy to spot in their bright green kit!) to ask about their run club - I met Helen who was super lovely and invited me to their next Wednesday run. I'm looking forward to trying it out!


I then carried on to complete my 10 miles for the week, down the canal, finished with a lovely cup of coffee at the Yellow Door cafe.


In summary - Ormeau parkrun felt a lot to me like Woodhouse Moor (my home parkrun!). It was mostly flat with a bit of hill, and a decent sized field without being too busy. A lot of the volunteers and runners are part of Ormeau runners who are a friendly local club. There are permanent signs up in the park for the Start/Finish, directions for each lap and km markers.


Grace, your time in position 219 today at Ormeau parkrun was 28:58. Well done on your first run here!





40 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page