top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDr Grace Roberts

Belfast Victoria parkrun

Victoria parkrun event #459

Number of runners: 265

Weather: Chilly but stunning sunshine


The 29th February is a unique parkrun day – the first on of it’s kind this year, and it won’t happen again for another 48 years! So what better than to pick the most scenic parkrun around. Makes a difference from Stranmillis last week!


Victoria park is in the north of Belfast – very close to the docks and the airport. Not that you’d notice this as it is incredibly scenic and peaceful. It’s a smallish park, with an outer path separated from an inner section (which has sports pitches and outdoor gym) by a little water way.


I was very lucky with the weather this morning, yes it was -2°C but the sun was shining, skies were blue and no rain! I set off early as I always worry about being on time when running to parkrun, especially as this one was quite far away, in an area I wasn’t familiar with. Armed with google maps, I managed to get there on time (2 mins to spare!) and I found the scenic Connswater Greenway en route!


There was no need to ask for directions to the start as, on arrival to the park, there was a wave of lyra-clad individuals heading down the main path. I headed to the middle of the back (this was part of my 14-mile run – taking this parkrun gently!) and I asked some locals for route details. It’s a simple 3-lapper round the outer path of the park. Huge bonus - it is *incredibly* flat. I have never been to a flatter parkrun! At some point, I overheard someone talking about the “hill in the corner,” I did not at all notice a hill so not sure what their standards of hills are!


Due to the straightforward route of Victoria, runners are advised to keep right, hugging the inside of the loop, with overtaking on the left. The majority of people stuck to this, making it very smooth. In addition, about 400m before the end, there is a marshal to direct finishes to keep left and those still running to the right, with cones marking this up to the finish. The 3 laps reminded me a bit of a smaller version of Woodhouse Moor – the first lap is a bit busy, the second lap involves being overtaken by the quick ones, then the last lap is a bit calmer (‘our lap’ as I like to call it!).


Overall, it’s a really beautiful park that is well protected from the wind by the surrounding trees. It’s also really easy to access by bike or foot using the Connswater Way with excellent bike parking facilities, and a good-sized car park for those driving. The running of the parkrun is very smooth. Unfortunately, I didn’t hear the run brief. They did have a megaphone but they did it at the front of the start, so us at the back had no idea what was being said! The volunteers were all lovely (obviously!) but due to the size of this parkrun, and presumably the touristy-ness of the location, it did seem to lack that warm community feel that the smaller ones have.


In summary – fast, flat, smooth, well organised in a beautiful setting. I’m definitely going to be back for a PB attempt at some point.


51 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page